All set for sixth annual Stiggy Cup

Last season’s Stiggy Cup winners celebrate their success.

Keighley Royals received the first Stiggy Cup from Judith Allen, Steve’s mother, in 2007. Pictures: David S Brett.

The line-up for this year’s Stiggy Cup competition has been revealed.
Twenty-four teams will be in action in pursuit of the popular annual memorial trophy at Silsden on Sunday, August 19.
The tournament is named after Steve ‘Stiggy’ Allen, who died aged 23 in 2007 in an industrial accident.
His mother Judith has since raised money for charities through sponsored walks, raffles and quizzes at Steve’s local, the Royal, in Keighley.

The first Stiggy Cup winners

First held in 2007, when it was organised by Steve’s club at the time, Keighley Royal FC2K and funded in part by fundraising and his employer, JN Bentley, the tournament raised £1000 for Keighley Minors.
Fittingly, the first cup was won by Keighley Royals.
This season’s team line-up: Steeton Vets, Dynamo Kecker, Bomber’s team, Dark Horse FC, Commercial Vice Squad, Oakworth A, Oakworth B, FC Barearsealona, FC2K, Bridger’s Bears, Team GB Bailey, Shooting Stars, Long Lee 90s, Athletic Veterans, Dave Seaton’s team, Ty’s Tigers, A Team, Mark Allen’s team, Steam Pigs A , FC on 1, Bazz’s All Black, 3 Horses, Bentley A, Bentley B.
There is no limit to the number of players in a squad but entry is £5 per player, not £5 per team.
Read more about this season’s Stiggy Cup, here.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Whom Do You See?